Times of clouds and sun

Ladies and gentlemen, I’m pleased to report that I now have a bed frame and am no longer sleeping with my mattress on the floor like a damned 19-year-old.

Saturday afternoon I went for a jog for the first time in ages, and for the first time in ages I remembered how much harder it is to run outside than it is to run on a treadmill. My legs are still aching.

Also Saturday afternoon: I went to Staten Island, where I visited a most fine Bed, Bath & Beyond. Though I did not find the three-compartment recycling center I’d hoped for, I did find a plastic-bag saver thingy, plus a brushed steel toothbrush holder and soap dispenser. Rock and Roll Grammarian’s bathroom is shaping up nicely, indeed.

After acquiring these much-needed items, my friend and I drove around Staten Island and happened upon one of the coolest places I’ve seen here: Snug Harbor Cultural Center and Botanical Garden.

We almost passed it by, but on a whim we turned back around and found the entrance. I’m so glad we did. It’s 83 acres of pure loveliness. If you’re ever on Staten Island, please visit this place. You’ll find gorgeous architecture, heavenly grounds and ample fodder for the imagination. Yes, I realize I sound like a brochure, but I cannot stress enough how big an impact this place made on me. And we were among maybe a dozen people there! It was crazy!

After spending a couple of hours strolling around, my friend and I drove up and down the streets surrounding the compound. Should I decide to make this part of the country my permanent home, I’ll definitely consider buying a little place here. It’s so, so lovely.

And then, today. Damn was it gorgeous — not too hot, not too humid, not too windy. My friend and I walked south a ways into Carroll Gardens. We stopped at an antiques store, where I spied a reasonably priced piano bench and looked at some old sheet music. After stopping at a wine store, we headed back north and over to Fort Greene Park. Meh, is pretty much what I have to say about the park, though maybe we missed its more beautiful spots.

I ended the day with fish and chips and a view of Manhattan. It looks so much closer at night.

By the by, according to this nifty little thing, I walked more than 6 miles today.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Times of clouds and sun

  1. BTS

    Snug Harbor? Am I the only one who thinks they ought to market boxer-briefs?Also, I notice that the appearance of the Bindlestiff Family Cirkus disappeared from the site in the last few hours. I guess someone in Snug Harbor has HBO.

Leave a Reply

