‘Thanks’

Where I work, and possibly where you work, people tend to include “thanks” in almost every work-related email or instant message response. Someone files a story, he includes “thanks” in the message. Someone else responds: “Got it. Thanks.” We sign our emails, regardless of their tone or intention, with “thanks.”

Between you and me, I don’t think people really mean “thanks” most of the time in these messages. Thanks for what? For opening the email and reading it? Maybe, I guess. For adding to an already crazy workload? Probably not. I hope this type of office correspondence doesn’t lessen our sensitivity to what the word really means.

I admit I use “thanks” when what I really mean is “OK” or “bye” or “I’m exceptionally irritated and fear I’ll say something rude if I don’t stop writing now.” The culture wears off on us, I guess. However, I much more frequently am sincere. I’m fortunate enough to have colleagues who help me. They take time from their ridiculously busy schedules to explain finance concepts, to help decipher — oh, what shall we call it — troubled writing, and to help me brainstorm headline ideas. And sometimes they help me with other things. Every day I receive their help, and every day they receive my thanks.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “‘Thanks’

  1. I’ve taken to ending most of my work-related correspondence with “Let me know if you have any further questions.” which works for me because most of the time if an email is directed at me it’s a question. But it’s also useful if you don’t know what else to put because text communication is much easier to misinterpret, hence if clarification is necessary it leaves that avenue open.

Leave a Reply

