Texas women

“While all those redneck bubba cowboys were driving the cattle, the women were running the ranches.” — Terri Burke of the ACLU

I recommend this piece about female voters in Texas.

Though I understand the argument that it’s high time a woman held the highest office in our country, I do not buy the notion that we should elect someone simply to achieve this milestone. That’s as absurd as voting a straight ticket without considering the candidates’ backgrounds and policies.

I am on board with electing the best person to run this country and refuse to let sex, race or party affiliation determine my voting decisions.

This seems obvious to me, and try as I have, I cannot understand why people vote in broad strokes.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

