My eyes are not accustomed to this light

I awoke roughly one hour ago bathed in sweat.

After a relative respite from 100-degree heat this last week, the temperatures are back up to unacceptable levels. It’s not even 11 a.m. yet, and it’s already about 90 degrees outside. Inside my apartment it’s 88 degrees, according to the thermostat, which is downstairs. It feels pretty warm down here, but upstairs is a special kind of hell. A bright, stifling kind of hell.

I figured I could lie there in misery until noon or so, which is when I usually fall back asleep on mornings like this, or I could rise and make this a productive day, so I chose the latter (though “productive” so far has proved a relative term; I’ve really only put in my contacts, consumed tea and read the news).

Readers, I’m going to try, try to become an early riser, or at least an earlier riser. I’m attempting this in part because I enjoy a challenge, and in part in anticipation of possible life changes which, should they come to fruition, will necessitate me getting to sleep before sunrise and waking before noon.

Today could be rough, considering I finally fell asleep sometime after 5 a.m. Knock on wood for me, please, or cross your fingers, or whatever.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “My eyes are not accustomed to this light

  1. Ugh! I feel you on this one. Is your air conditioner behaving, at least?

  2. I wish I could say it is behaving itself, but it’s not. Sigh. However, we only have a couple months left of oppressive heat. I suspect I’ll live.

Leave a Reply

