Fed(Ex) up

Something that makes me quite happy: the prospect of having a lovely new iMac at an extremely good price, delivered to my door not two days after it was ordered.

Something that makes me really fracking unhappy: not receiving said iMac when I was supposed to receive it and spending the better part of an hour on the phone (most of it on hold) with the FedEx people trying to figure out why the hell their online tracking system says they delivered it at 12:06 p.m. and released it to me when they A) did NOT deliver it at 12:06 p.m., or any other time today, and B) did not release it to me.

At first I panicked and thought perhaps I’d not heard the doorbell and someone stole the box from my doorstep sometime between 12:06 p.m. and 12:40 p.m., when I, giddy as a 6-year-old on Christmas morning, opened the door to see if it had arrived. Then I thought perhaps they’d delivered it to the wrong apartment. Oh, the agony!

FedEx was astoundingly unsympathetic and unhelpful on the phone, even after I explained that my computer might be sitting helpless and alone in the freezing weather on someone else’s doorstep. FedEx doesn’t operate on Sunday, which means I won’t even know the whereabouts of my shiny new iMac until Monday. Unacceptable! I can’t believe they don’t have emergency procedures in cases like this!

I raced home from work and canvassed the entire complex, looking on each doorstep for a cold and forlorn box. Nothing. I found nothing. I’m sure my neighbors, if they saw me, think I’m a raving lunatic (and I’d done so well in keeping that fact from them lo these many months!).

After that, I did what any normal person would do: crack open a beer and obsessively search for information on the Internet. After reviewing the shipping policies for both FedEx and Apple, I feel more or less assured that the delivery person didn’t just leave the package on my or someone else’s doorstep (Apple requires a signature, and FedEx does appear to have the correct address). So, that’s good. Now I just have to wind down enough to sleep. After I work my crossword and sudoku puzzles, of course.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Fed(Ex) up

  1. i came across your blog by accident. then, i read your profile and saw that the greatest film ever made, amadeus, was listed as one of your favorites. how wonderful is your taste in movies!sorry to hear about your fed ex troubles…thats got to be rough. glad i discovered your blog.

Leave a Reply

