Blech

Word I cannot stand to hear or see in print: “pizzazz.” *Shudders*

I’m not sure why I dislike it so much, but I do. It makes me think of obnoxious Broadway voices, or something. I guess I’m not a big fan of the short “a” sound in many cases (“pajamas” and “Mazzio’s” spring immediately to mind).

Anyway, please don’t ever use “pizzazz” in my presence. And if you come across a word that can be pronounced with a short “a” or a long one, please seriously considering choosing the long one. Unless the word is “vase.” Thank you.

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Blech

  1. A brief but compelling case for the beauty and character of the short “A” sound can be found in the middle syllable of the following: Samantha

  2. K

    And in the “Dead Like Me” series – the mom gets all worked up over hearing the word ‘moist’.’Pizzazz’ – is that like ‘jazz hands’? (one of my personal distates).

Leave a Reply

