Say, say, say

Over the years I’ve formed a mental list of words I love either for the way they sound or for what they mean. I think now would be a good time to list a few of them (in no particular order):

Pumpernickel
Hyperbole
Persnickety (thanks, Mom)
Babble
Conglomeration
Rubisco
Galapagos
Salamander
Nova Scotia
Thunder
Tundra
Murmur
Mountain (but only when you say it, Cookie)
Rapscallion
Leviathan
Belonging
Woebegone
Lucidity
Yes
Tarantella
Tarantula
Cherish
Effervescent
Rutabaga
Kumquat
Envelope (verb)
Envelope (noun)
Bumblebee
Acceptance
Hello
Timbuktu
Odious
Ram-a-lam-a-ding-dong
Perpendicular
Lugubrious

This is just a start. So many words give me joy, it would be impossible to list them all. I’ll leave you with a string of words. This, I think, is just about the coolest thing a person could say to another:

Live long and prosper.

7 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

7 responses to “Say, say, say

  1. OMFG, I gave you “murmur” in a telephone conversation back in high school. I remember it distinctly. Where’s Los Angeles? When I was moving out there, you remarked it was “such a pretty name.” I said you were weird.

  2. For the sake of being more constructive, I’ll add “hegemony” to the list. From time to time, I think of starting a comic strip about “Hegemony Cricket.”

  3. You do have a style all your own.

  4. Ooo. “Hegemony” is good, too. I also love “edamame.”

  5. Lugubrious! My fave as well — there’s also salubrious. What about Guadalajara? I just love the way it rolls off the tongue.

  6. I always liked “salacious.” But my favorite is “tortuous.”Because I like the wee turtles.

  7. I do enjoy both Guadalajara and salacious. Also, miasma and flambe.

Leave a Reply

