Music of the night

I was just itching to let loose on the piano tonight. So, after I’d dutifully read a chapter in my biology textbook, I indulged this urge, and let me just tell you, it was most satisfying. As usual, I started with some scales and arpeggios and then launched into my standard repertoire: a few Scriabin preludes, one particularly doleful and lovely Chopin prelude, Beethoven’s “Sonata Pathetique,” a fun and bluesy Gershwin prelude and this Mozart sonata I’ve (slowly) been learning. Those of you who play instruments can relate to this: Some days, your hands have an energy all their own. You sit down at your piano or guitar, and the music just flies out of you. Nothing compares to it, really.

So, after pounding away for an hour or so, I did something I haven’t done in several years: I dug out some of the pieces I used to sing back when I had a decent voice. I was a total choir geek all through middle school and high school and competed in every conceivable vocal contest the great state of Oklahoma had to offer. I kept all of the sheet music from those years. Tonight I tried out a couple of old Italian arias and this fun little German song, “Volksliedchen.” Guess what? I can still hit the high notes! This is very exciting to me. Feeling thus emboldened, I moved on to a more embarrassing class of vocal music, the show tunes:
“I Don’t Know How to Love Him” from Jesus Christ Super Star, “Send in the Clowns,” “Tell Me on a Sunday,” from Song and Dance — all just as cheesy as they could be, but gracious were they fun to sing.

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Music of the night

  1. Yes, the clowns. Aren’t you glad you’d already left for college by the time I started practicing that one incessantly?

  2. I’m forced to ask an obvious question: where is the rock ‘n’ roll, grammarian?

  3. Well, they say the groove is in the heart, so I’m guessing the rock ‘n’ roll is somewhere nearby.

Leave a Reply

